A Moment of Silence

It feels wrong to say silly things in the wake of a tragedy.

 A family member had grown too tired from her bouts in the ring with depression, and it took her life. It’s hard to know what to say, really.

This isn’t about me at all, though I understand the exhaustion of depression and maybe you do, too. When a young person commits suicide, people often say things like “they had so much life ahead of them.” But the same can be said of people of any age—there is more life ahead of us. Around the corner from sadness is possibly a little joy, or at least a little relief.

That was the seed of this journal, after all; I wanted to experience and document some tangles with joy while I’m around. I hope we all do more to take care of ourselves.

And I’ll get back to it, but right now it’s more important to give pause.

Also, the kids next door had written this in sidewalk chalk, and I walk over it every day. It’s a good thing to try to remember, if you can. And it’s a good thing to tell people when you feel it about them.

image

I love my Mom and Dad, my brother, my sister, my aunts, uncles, cousins, and the people who aren’t related to me but have felt like kith and kin.

2 thoughts on “A Moment of Silence

  1. I’m so sorry, Andy. I am too familiar with the pain you are in now, and I know a little of the other end too. There is no other way to say it – suicide sucks. My heart hurts for you and yours.

    Like

Leave a Reply

